CUBICLE CHAT: Oh Mama! Maternity Bridesmaids Dresses

April 22, 2009

For her April wedding, my best friend, Lisa, told her bridesmaids that we could each choose our own black dress.  As matron of honor, I was relieved: Since I’m having a baby in May, my appearance is distracting enough without adding fuchsia to the mix.  I work at BRIDES, so I started at the fashion director’s desk.  She told me to check out A Pea in the Pod’s dresses (“Totally cute—I’d wear them!” were her exact words), which are sold at Destination Maternity, an awesome one-stop shop. It’s an easy place to love: The staff walks the floor with free water and juice, and the day I was there, they were also passing out Magnolia Bakery cupcakes.  I found 14 (!) dresses to try and about half were serious contenders.  Would I go boho with a silk 70s-style gown with funky black embroidery?  Or girly with the wrap dress that had a ruffled neckline and polka-dot chiffon overlay?  I finally settled on a flowy, goddess-inspired cocktail-length number with delicate gold beading under an empire waist, the BFF of preggo women everywhere. (PS: The price was perfect—I’d love to wear it again, but won’t be bummed if I don’t.) To pull my look together, I only needed a great blowout, patent peep-toe flats, and the Tiffany & Co. bracelet that was a gift from Lisa.  –Lexi, Cubicle Chat

One Response to “CUBICLE CHAT: Oh Mama! Maternity Bridesmaids Dresses”


  1. Hi, cool post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for posting. I will certainly be coming back to your posts. Keep up the good posts


Leave a Reply

